Underage Injury Claims in Kentucky
As with most states, Kentucky has specific guidelines when it comes to personal injury claims involving children or anyone under the age of 18.
Underage Injury claims in Kentucky
A child in Kentucky is anyone under the age of 18, who is not married, and who is still under parental custody. These minors, however, are still entitled to pursue a personal injury case. There are rules and guidelines as to the correct procedure for these types of lawsuits, and if your child has been involved in an auto accident, a dog bite, has fallen victim to a defective product, or any other injury in Covington, Newport or Florence – contact a qualified personal injury attorney right away. They may be entitled to a settlement.
Statutes of Limitations
In Kentucky, there are statutes of limitations when it comes to filing a personal injury claim. This deadline to file a claim is usually about 1 year from the time the accident occurred. However, for minors and those with mental disorders, this timeframe can be extended. May do not realize that the state does make exceptions to the statute of limitations, and as such, you should never hesitate to seek immediate medical treatment – and reach out to a personal injury attorney in Kentucky right away.
Filing a Claim
Lawsuits are always required to be brought before the court in the name of an adult, most commonly a parent. Children may not bring forth underage injury claims in Kentucky on their own. After the personal injury suit has been settled, the court must then approve it.
A conservator has to be appointed in the event that the settlement exceeds $10,000. This is for the processes of yearly accounting that must be filed with the court. For settlements under $10,000, the parent acts as only a trustee, using the money for maintenance, education, and welfare of the injured child.